Reflective Teaching: Day 2

Write about one piece of technology that you would like to try this year, and why. You might also write about what you’re hoping to see out of this edtech integration.

Samsung

This may sound like I have tech-lag, but I really want to use my document camera I have in my room this year.  I have used a SMARTBoard for the past 6 years, but I had no great way to get student work up and shown for the class (unless I busted out the cell phone and took a picture).  I HATE to be at the board writing down things for class, even when it’s students instructing me what to write.  It always appears like I am the filter for their mathematics, that I will “debug” their mathematical thoughts and produce the answer.  I want students to explain their thinking, display the steps they took and explain why they progressed through the problem like they did.  I want students to examine each other’s work, look for how that student approached the problem and compare it to their own method.  I can’t do that when I am the one asking questions, writing steps and finalizing the answer.  In order to set my students free of the leash of teacher approval for work, they need to step up and take the hotseat.  My use of the document camera will be a huge step towards this goal.

Leave a Reply

