Irrational Numbers on the Number Line- Cutting out what you don’t need

This problem has received a lot of attention on my blog the past couple of weeks…

Consider the roots of the first 9 Natural Numbers (√1 to √9), how many of them produce Irrational Numbers?

List them.  Graph their approximate location on a number line.

number-line-600x271

Explain how you determined where to place them on the graph.

 

Is √10 Rational or Irrational?  Explain how you know.  Where on the number line would you graph it?

 

Although I do like this problem, I’m going to cut out what I don’t need.  I think I am going to go with this:

 

Consider the roots of the first 9 Natural Numbers (√1 to √9), what do you notice?

Graph them as accurately as you can.

Blank Number Line

Explain how you graphed them.

 

Consider √10 and compare it to your other roots.  What do you notice?  Where on the number line would you graph it?

 

I want the conversation to come up about how √1, √4 and √9 become “numbers” (as I anticipate students to express), and the others are not as familiar.  Hopefully we can get to classifications from this conversation.  I took away the labeled number line because I also hope to get students thinking about where those numbers lie and how to label the above graph to most accurately display their position on that line.  I anticipate a few misconceptions about labeling the interval.  Hopefully by the time we get to √10, students will automatically be thinking of Irrational and Rational numbers and where it belongs.  They can do all of that, I need to get out of their way.

Leave a Reply

