Reflective Teaching: Day 5

Post a picture of your classroom, and describe what you see–and what you don’t see that you’d like to.

IMAG0817

This is how my classroom  currently looks.  It is fairly small this year, which is a big change for me from last.  I like that I still have tables instead of desks, and the fact that I have computer resources in my room versus going to a lab.  I am starting to get student work displayed in the room- I feel that is very important for the classroom.  Students need to see work done other than teacher examples, and it also instills an amount of pride of their work.  I usually find that the more I post on the walls, the better student products I receive.  To the right of this picture is my SMARTBoard, I just couldn’t get all of it in the shot.

The only things right now I wish I had more of was space.  I would like to get a few more computer stations up in my room, allowing more students to work on projects I assign in class (can’t wait to get them on DESMOS).  I also would like a little more room for alternate seating for students: a study carrel, space to spread on the floor to work, etc.   I find that allowing students alternatives to the standard desk and chair helps with student behavior and work.  Other than those two things, I really am happy with my current classroom.

 

Leave a Reply

